Home About About Us Board of Trustees
Board of Trustees
A Note From the President
jay stein
Jay Stein
I am honored to serve as Congregation Beth Israel’s president for the coming two years. I look forward to working with the new Executive Board, with our energetic Board Members, our talented and passionate staff and of course with our two amazing Rabbis and our wonderful Cantor. I would like to thank all of our Executive Officers and Board Members for their contributions during the past two years and I would like to thank all of our Committees and Committee Chairs for their hard work as well. Also, an Extra Large thank you to Marc Lerner, our Immediate Past President and Steve Bandler, his predecessor, for guiding CBI through a unique set of challenges brought on mostly by the recent economic turmoil. As I am sure you are aware, our programs and services were not lessened, in fact we increased programming, services and initiatives, and we are just getting started.  

I hope to get to know those of you whom I don’t know. I am very easy to get in touch with and am interested in hearing all of your ideas and suggestions. You may reach me at my office at 480-949-9011 and on my cell at 480-570-1411. My email is This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it . Also, you will see me at services regularly, usually with four young children in tow. Stop me, say hello, as you can imagine, adult conversation is welcomed!

If you have an inclination, there are many ways to get involved. As much as we would like to see you more often, I think you would enjoy any time spent contributing to our Jewish Community. I learned a lesson from my business mentor, my Uncle Sid, who in turn learned it from his business mentor. The lesson about charity: “You get more than you give,” and my personal experience is that is true every time.

L’Shalom, Jay Stein

Board of Trustees
  • Jay Stein, President
  • Tammy Weinbaum, Vice-President
  • Gail Baer, Treasurer
  • Jacki Cohen, Secretary
  • Marc Lerner, Immediate Past President
  • Mollyann Allen
  • Jennifer Garber
  • Nathan Learner
  • Julie Hymovitch
  • Dr. Benjamin Harris
  • James Levy
  • Robin Roeder
  • Carol Seidberg
  • Bob Silver
  • Dr. Harry Sunenshine

Honorary Life Members

  • Sheldon Roth
  • Stephen Haberkorn
Past Presidents

Board of Directors - Past Presidents

Charles Steinberg* I.J. Lipson* H.H. Rosenberg*
1920-1924 1924-1927 1927-1928
H.R. Primrock* Herman Lewkowitz* Harold Diamond*
1928-1929 1930-1931 1931-1932
Charles Korrick* Harry Newman* Henry Lesem*
1932-1935 1935-1937 1937-1938
Archie M. Kroloff* Herman Lewkowitz* Allen Rosenberg*
1938-1940 1940-1942 1942-1944
Charles Korrick* Archie M. Kroloff* Nat G. Silverman*
1944-1950 1950-1951 1951
Harold Diamond* Newton Rosenzweig* Harry Rosenzweig*
1951-1952 1952-1954 1954-1957
David Bush* Malcolm Straus Phillip Copland*
1957-1959 1959-1961 1961-1963
Sam Kiviat* Gilmore Kahnweiler* Philip Taxman*
1963-1965 1965-1967 1967-1969
Aubrey Grouskay* Bernard Fogelson* H. Jerry Lewkowitz
1969-1970 1971-1973 1973-1975
Irvin Pearlstein* Morris Lerner* Myron C. Rosenthal*
1975-1977 1977-1979 1979-1981
Dr. Lawrence Frazin Donald S. Lubin Marvin E. Lory*
1981-1983 1983-1985 1985-1987
Sherman R. Bendalin Maury Amdur* Fran Frazin
1987-1989 1989-1990 1990-1992
Jeff Leonard Steve Chanen Burt Kruglick
1992-1994 1994-1996 1996-1998
Herman Lewkowitz Susan Sendrow Andrew Klein
1998-2000 200-2002 2002-2003
Steven Lisker Sol Moretsky Carol Reynolds
2003-2005 2005-2007 2007-2009
Steve Bandler
Marc Lerner  
2009-2011 2011-2013  
* deceased